Scott Creek is in the lands of the Kaurna people and was a major travelling route through the hills down to the plains and coast for the neighbouring Peramangk people.
In 1839, soon after colonists arrived in South Australia, George and Sarah Mackereth settled beside Scott Creek. Their home, Mackereth Cottage, is listed in the South Australian Heritage Register. Some time later, the surrounding area was mined for copper and silver. At the nearby Almanda Mine site, a series of information signs tells the story of the historic mine ruins. Over in the park’s east is an unusual double Twisted Chimney, which is a remnant of the many small holdings that used to be here.
In the early seventies, the area was resumed by the SA government to extend the catchment for Mt Bold Reservoir and to preserve its natural conservation values.
The area was proclaimed a conservation park in 1985 because of its significant and diverse native flora and fauna and the sites of historical significance.
Discover so much more about the history of European settlement in our publication entitled Scott Creek from Settlement to Conservation. This book covers the history of farming, mining, soldier settlements and includes oral histories of past residents.